Leading the Way

The College selects invaluable members of the radiology community for its highest honors.leading the way

John Quincy Adams once said, “If your actions inspire others to dream more, learn more, do more and become more, you are a leader.”

Each year at AMCLC, the College bestows its highest honors — the ACR Gold Medal and Honorary Fellowship — upon leaders who have worked hard to advance the specialty and inspire others to continue the legacy of making meaningful contributions to radiology. Commendations will be awarded at the AMCLC convocation in April 2014.

Gold Medalists

Reed DunnickN. Reed Dunnick, MD, FACR, University of Michigan Health System, Ann Arbor, Mich.

Working hard and collaborating with others to advance the specialty is nothing new for N. Reed Dunnick, MD, FACR. Dunnick has a long history with the College, serving as a member of the Board of Chancellors from 2002 to 2009, as well as on various committees and commissions, such as the Commission on Body Imaging and the Commission on Education. Dunnick has also served as the president of ARRS and is currently the president-elect of the RSNA’s board of directors.

Dunnick also has a strong commitment to education. He is currently the Fred Jenner Hodges Professor and chair of the department of radiology at the University of Michigan Health System in Ann Arbor, Mich. He was awarded a lifetime service award from the ABR and has been a faculty member of Duke University Medical Center and Stanford University School of Medicine. He has also held numerous guest faculty positions around the world.

“Dr. Dunnick epitomizes each of the ACR’s five pillars through his purposeful leadership and productive career.” — Jacqueline A. Bello, MD, FACR

When asked what receiving the Gold Medal meant to him, Dunnick commented, “This is a most appreciated honor and one that reflects upon the many talented colleagues with whom I have had the pleasure of working.”

Carol M. Rumack, MD, FACR, University of Colorado Denver School of Medicine, Aurora, Colo.Carol Rumack

Carol M. Rumack, MD, FACR, holds a prominent place within the ACR. She has served on the Board of Chancellors and was ACR president from 2009 to 2010. She has also worked on numerous commissions, including the Commission on Ultrasound and the Commission on General and Pediatric Radiology. Rumack was the founding president of the American Association of Women Radiologists, helping lay the groundwork for the association to create opportunities for women in the specialty.

“Dr. Rumack has enjoyed a long, illustrious, productive career in all aspects of academic medicine. She has worked tirelessly for radiology, the ACR, and the advancement of medicine as a profession.” — William J. Casarella, MD, FACR

Rumack is also a leader in the field of pediatric brain ultrasound. She has authored numerous texts and is an author of the textbook Diagnostic Ultrasound, which is in its fourth edition. She is currently the associate dean of graduate medical education at the University of Colorado Denver School of Medicine, in Aurora, Colo. Rumack says, “The ACR Gold Medal is the greatest honor of my career. I am proud to have this truly amazing recognition.”

James ThrallJames H. Thrall, MD, FACR, Massachusetts General Hospital, Boston

The concept of wearing many hats is familiar to James H. Thrall, MD, FACR, former chair of the Board of Chacellors. Thrall is the first physician to hold both the radiologist-inchief position at Massachusetts General Hospital and the Juan M. Taveras Professorship of Radiology at Harvard Medical School. Thrall also currently chairs the executive committee of the Harvard Department of Radiology and has served on numerous editorial boards, including those of the Journal for Nuclear Medicine and the JACR®.

Education is also an area where Thrall has made his mark. In addition to serving as faculty at Harvard and the University of Michigan Medical Center, Thrall is the author of more than 400 publications, including the books Nuclear Medicine: The Requisites and A Guide to Digital Revolution. He has been a guest faculty member and has lectured at courses and universities around the world.

“Dr. Thrall may be properly characterized as a preeminent professional visionary and innovator whose farsightedness has enhanced, rather than eclipsed, his ability to address the most challenging of contemporary problems.” — Milton J. Guiberteau, MD, FACR

For Thrall, receiving the Gold Medal is not an award received in isolation: “What we accomplish in medicine in caring for patients and within professional organizations like the ACR requires teams of people. I really believe that each person who is fortunate enough to be a recipient of the ACR Gold Medal should think of themselves as accepting it in recognition of everyone who has supported the team and worked together over the years on behalf of radiology.”

Honorary Fellows

Michel Claudon, MD, Brabois Hospital, University of Nancy, FranceMichael Claudon

A native of France and father of three daughters, Michel Claudon, MD, has worked hard in advancing the fields of uroradiology, ultrasound, and pediatric radiology. He has demonstrated his success as a leader, having served as president of the World Federation of Ultrasound in Medicine and Biology and the European Society of Urogenital Radiology.

“Dr. Claudon is a highly accomplished and lauded French radiologist who is truly deserving of this honor.” — Parvati Ramchandani, MD, FACR

Claudon is the author of over 144 articles and has been honored as a significant contributor to diagnostic ultrasound by the American Institute of Ultrasound in Medicine. Claudon currently serves as a professor of radiology and chief of the pediatric radiology department in the Children’s Hospital at the University of Nancy.

Gabriel KrestinGabriel P. Krestin, MD, PhD, Erasmus University Medical Center, Rotterdam, Netherlands

Born in Romania, Gabriel P. Krestin immigrated to Germany at the age of 19, where he graduated from the University of Cologne in Germany. Krestin has held numerous leadership positions within the specialty, including president of the European Society of Radiology and president of the European Society for Magnetic Resonance in Medicine and Biology. Adding to his experiences in leadership is the founding of Management in Radiology, an annual congress that provides a forum for the exchange of ideas and concepts on management aimed to enhance radiology’s contribution to medicine. Krestin currently is a professor of radiology and chair of the department of radiology at Erasmus Medical Center in the Netherlands.

Krestin is also a prolific author, having written over 350 articles and seven books. Additionally, he has served on the editorial and advisory boards of several international journals, such as Radiology.

“Dr. Krestin is a leading figure in radiology, not only in Europe but worldwide.” — N. Reed Dunnick, MD, FACR

Read about last year's Gold Medalists and Honorary Fellows at http://bit.ly/2013GM-HF.

By Meghan Edwards

Share this content

Submit to FacebookSubmit to Google PlusSubmit to TwitterSubmit to LinkedIn