2013 Gold Medalists and Honorary Fellows

ACR invites you to submit your recommendations.2013 gold medalists

It's time to nominate your fellow ACR members or other outstanding international radiologists for the College's highest honors in 2013. 

The ACR Gold Medal is awarded by the Board of Chancellors to radiologists, radiation oncologists, medical physicists, and distinguished scientists you have contributed extraordinary service to the ACR or to the discipline of radiology. Service to radiology can be in teaching, basic research, clinical investigation, or radiologic statesmanship as well as outstanding contributions in working with other medical organizations, government agencies, and quasimedical organizations. Since 1927, the award has been presented to 172 diagnostic radiologists, radiation oncologists, and physicists who have attained notable stature in the specialty of radiology. The awardees are honored each year at the ACR Convocation at AMCLC.

Honorary fellows are elected by the Board of Chancellors in recognition of preeminent contributions to the science or practice of radiology by individuals who are ineligible for admission as members of the College. Since 1947, this award has been presented to 190 outstanding individuals from all over the world.

The ACR Committee on Awards and Honors is seeking nominations for the awards in 2013. The deadline for submitting nominations and supporting materials for candidates is July 1, 2012. The award will be presented at AMCLC on May 5, 2013, in Washington, D.C. Any member or fellow of the ACR may submit a nomination for gold medalist; any fellow of the ACR may submit a nomination for honorary fellow.

Board rules stipulate that a College member or a fellow may serve only once each year as either a primary nominator or a sponsor of a gold medalist nominee. For example, a College member or fellow cannot be the primary nominator for one nominee and a sponsor for another or else act in either capacity for more than one candidate each year. The rules also state that a fellow may serve only twice each year as the primary nominator or sponsor of nominees for honorary fellow (i.e., a fellow can serve as the primary for one candidate and as the sponsor for another or in either capacity for no more than two candidates each year).

The rules further stipulate that reactivation of an individual's nomination for gold medalist is permissible for one year only. If the individual is not chosen for the gold medal during the first year, the primary nominator will be given the opportunity to reactivate the candidate's nomination for consideration the following year without submitting additional supporting letters. Should the candidate not be recommended for the medal after being reactivated, he or she would then be ineligible for one year before a new nomination could be brought forward for consideration. All reactivation letters should be submitted by March 1, 2012, for consideration the second year.

A candidate for an honorary fellowship could be nominated one year, reactivated the second year, and, if not recommended for an award, would then be ineligible for one year before a new nomination could be brought forward for consideration.

Members of the Committee on Awards and Honors, current college officers and members of the Board of Chancellors, and the CEO, and staff of the College are excluded from nominating or sponsoring candidates. Nominations must be submitted in writing. Accompanying materials must include detailed background information on the nominee's qualifications for the award and comprehensive curriculum vitae of the nominee. In addition, each nominee must have at least two letters of recommendation from his or her sponsors. Nominations for the 2013 awards, including all accompanying materials, should be sent to E. Stephen Amis Jr., M.D., FACR, chair of the Committee on Awards and Honors, 1891 Preston White Drive, Reston, Va., 20191, Attention Harvey L. Neiman, M.D., FACR. Or you can email the information to Mary Jane Donahue at This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it..


Share this content

Submit to FacebookSubmit to Google PlusSubmit to TwitterSubmit to LinkedIn